What is your name?
Zeperhead
Where are you from?

Melbourne, Australia

How old are you?
I am 17, turned it two days ago.
How is your day going?

Lovely. I just finished school, which was a breeze, and now I am kicking it at home listening to Bombay Bicycle Club about to tackle one of my many folios, which needs to be finished for Wednesday. I am nearly done which is a relief. It was also my birthday yesterday so I am pretty hyped on all my new food, films and art supplies on the table in front of me.

Are you an artist?
Yes, I would classify myself as an artist. Art in whatever form or medium is something that I will hopefully always pursue throughout my life and ideally turn into a career. So in my head I guess I would call myself an artist. Its probably one of the corniest things said but I do believe that everyone is an artist. Its whether you choose to express yourself creatively that defines you.
Whether or not you call yourself an artist, how do you describe what you create?
I have never really thought about this before. I guess I would describe my work as representations of ideas and feelings formed by inspiration and interests in my life. If I could make it sound any cheesier I would.
So you’re on Instagram.  What other applications do you use to edit your images?
Photoshop
When did you find out that art meant something in this world?
As I have gotten older my understanding about what art means has grown. I would say that my biggest breakthrough in discovering what art meant was when I really got into and explored film. I really felt that I understood how much art could effect and change a person’s life. Knowing how much art can and does do, there is nothing that I want more than to be a part of it.
Do you have a favorite color?
Nope
How do you support yourself these days?
With something that I hope never stops, pocket money.
As a creative individual, how do you fit into this world and what are your plans?
I would say that I fit into this world as a young skateboarder, filmmaker, graffiti artist, artist and student – trying to figure out what they want to do in life. At the moment I am striving towards film and cinematography, but you never know that could very well change. I definitely want to do something art related as a career.
Are you spiritual?  If so, how does your spirituality influence your art?
Not incredibly, but I do meditate. I find that centering myself makes it a lot easier to form and learn how to communicate ideas.  I meditate by crossing my legs and thinking about squares, there is a little more to it than that but I guess that is the best way to describe it. I have been doing it for a few years.
Are you involved in your art after its creation or do you leave it up to the observer/listener?
Often depends on the medium. With all my canvas work I never keep them, I usually give them away. I guess Instagram would count as being involved. My crew’s graffiti blog would count as well then. Always great to edit, share and collect comments on your work.
What is the point of what you do?
To enjoy expressing myself through my work, whilst challenging the possibilities of what I think I am capable of creating and showing a natural progression while doing it.
Why have you chosen this goal?
To make sure that I am pushing myself further and having fun doing it.
Are you achieving it?
I hope so.
What do you love the most?
My friends, family and skateboard.
What do you love the least?
Pickles
Closing comments:
I am honored to have been a part of Insta-Gratest. I really enjoyed answering all of the questions especially the ones that I had never thought about before. Thanks for supporting art and its community. Keep up the good work.
Get inspired and go create.
More art and photography by my new friend can be found on Instagram, @Zeperhead, and on his crew’s Tumblr.  It was a pleasure working with such an engaging, polite, and excited artist.  Look out for a full-length profile in the future.

 

